المواضيع

مأساة هدر الطعام

مأساة هدر الطعام


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

يتم إلقاء معظم مخلفات الطعام في مكبات النفايات بدلاً من إعادة تدويرها ، ولكن يتم تجديد مطمر مهجور.

هناك العديد من القصص الممتعة المتداولة حول عودة الحياة البرية وشفاء الطبيعة بينما يأخذ البشر استراحة من نشاطنا. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا التباطؤ ليس خبراً جيداً للبيئة. مدينة نيويورك ، على سبيل المثال ، أوقفت برنامج إعادة التدوير العضوي. وهذا يعني أن عشرات الآلاف من الأطنان من القمامة التي كان من الممكن إعادة تدويرها العام الماضي هذا العام سوف تجد طريقها إلى مكب النفايات.

لا يلاحظ الكثير من الناس في مدينة نيويورك أنه تم تعليق العرض. فقط نصف أحياء المدينة بها حاويات بنية اللون على الرصيف. وحوالي 10 في المائة فقط من أصحاب الحاويات يشاركون على الإطلاق. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا يضيف ما يصل إلى 50000 طن من المواد العضوية المعاد تدويرها كل عام ، وهو ما يكفي لملء ما يقرب من 4000 شاحنة قمامة.

عندما تتحلل بقايا الطعام والمواد العضوية الأخرى ، فإنها تنتج غاز الميثان ، والذي إذا تم إطلاقه يمكن أن يكون مدمرًا للغلاف الجوي ، ولكن عند التقاطه في برنامج إعادة التدوير المتحكم به يمكن استخدامه كطاقة بديلة. إعادة تدوير المواد العضوية محليًا يعني أيضًا أن كل هذه الأطنان من القمامة لا تحتاج إلى نقلها بالشاحنات خارج الولاية حتى ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك منتج ثانوي مادي للأسمدة ، يمكن بيعه في السوق أو استخدامه في حدائق المجتمع.

حتى وقت قريب ، كان جزءًا من تلك المجموعة الصغيرة من سكان نيويورك الذين أعادوا تدوير بقايا طعامهم. وقد فعلت ذلك بجد. كل قشرة موز ، كل نواة تفاح ، كل يوم أربعاء تنزل إلى الرصيف ويقوم عمال الصرف الصحي بسحبها بعيدًا لتصبح سمادًا أو غازًا حيويًا ، وهو شيء أكثر من مجرد مكب نفايات. ربما كانت مساهمتي خمسة جنيهات فقط في الأسبوع. لكن كان من الجيد معرفة أنني كنت أقوم بتقليل تأثيري بهذه الطريقة الصغيرة ولكن الثابتة.

الآن سيتم نقل عشرات الآلاف من الأطنان من القمامة بواسطة شاحنات تعمل بالديزل لتثبيتها وتنبعث منها غاز الميثان في مكب النفايات. يبدو الأمر وكأنه خطأ غير مقصود ، كما لو أننا نرتكب أخطاء بدأنا بالفعل في تصحيحها. أيا كان اسمه ، فهو بالتأكيد خطوة إلى الوراء في كفاحنا ضد تغير المناخ.

يعد مكب النفايات القديم في مدينة نيويورك ، الذي كان في يوم من الأيام الأكبر في العالم ، أفضل مكان لما يمكن أن يحدث لملايين الأطنان من القمامة. سيغطي Freshkills Park ، عند افتتاحه في عام 2035 ، 2200 فدان ، أي حوالي ثلاثة أضعاف مساحة سنترال بارك. تم تصميمه من قبل James Corner Field Operations ، وهي نفس الشركة التي صممت High Line في مانهاتن. إنه ليس أول مشروع مكب نفايات يتم إيقافه ، لكنه الأكبر.

يقول كايت فيلد ، مدير تطوير العلوم والبحوث في فريشكيلز بارك: "ربما يكون من الأفضل التفكير فيها على أنها حديقة وطنية". "سيكون هناك درب ومركز للزوار. الفكرة هي أنك لن تزور المنتزه بأكمله في يوم واحد ".

كان Freshkills Park في الأصل مكب Fresh Kills Landfill. تم افتتاحه في عام 1948 من قبل مفوض الحدائق المثير للجدل روبرت موسى. كان ينوي فقط تلقي القمامة من المدينة لمدة ثلاث سنوات ، وبدلاً من ذلك أخذ القمامة بعيدًا لأكثر من نصف قرن. في ذروته ، أضاف ذلك ما يقرب من 30000 طن من النفايات يوميًا.

في عام 1970 ، كتب مفوض سابق للصرف الصحي يُدعى صموئيل كيرينج عن زيارة للموقع فيال مجلةنيويورك: "كان له نوع من الكابوس ... كان Fresh Kills منذ آلاف السنين مستنقعًا مدًا رائعًا وفيرًا ويعزز الحياة فعليًا. وفي غضون 25 عامًا فقط ، اختفى ودُفن تحت ملايين الأطنان من نفايات مدينة نيويورك ".

في عام 2001 ، تم إغلاق المطمر أخيرًا. على الرغم من أن العمل قد بدأ للتو. كما يقول فيلد: "القمامة لا تزول. لا يمكنك أخذه إلى أي مكان. إنها ملايين وملايين الأطنان ".

لذا بدلاً من ذلك ، قاموا بتحديده. هناك بطانة مقاومة للماء تحافظ على كل القمامة والميثان في مكانها. ثم هناك بضع طبقات من الأوساخ ، لكل منها تناسق مختلف لأغراض مختلفة. توجد طبقة تنفيس غاز وطبقة تجميع تصريف. كل شيء معقد للغاية تحته ، حتى لو بدا وكأنه تل عشبي.

أما بالنسبة لغاز الميثان ، فإن الحديقة بها مئات الآبار في جميع أنحاء الموقع لالتقاط الغاز. يكفي لتشغيل 20 ألف منزل في جزيرة ستاتين. وهذا يعني أيضًا أن الجبال المغطاة بالقمامة تنكمش تقنيًا ، وإن كان ذلك قليلاً وببطء شديد.

الأشجار صلبة في حديقة Freshkills لأن جذورها لا يمكن أن تصل إلى هذا الحد قبل أن تصل إلى طبقة الغطاء. لذلك ، فإن المنتزه عبارة عن أراضي عشبية ذات جذور ضحلة وتسمح أيضًا للموظفين بالوصول بسهولة إلى رؤوس الآبار والبنية التحتية الأخرى.

هذه أخبار جيدة لعصفور الجندب. تعتبر هذه الطيور من اهتمامات الحفظ في ولاية نيويورك ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى أن موطنها المفضل ، والمراعي الطويلة ، نادرة جدًا في الشمال الشرقي. اليوم ، يطلق أكبر طاقم من عصافير الجراد في ولاية نيويورك على هذا المكب السابق موطنه. مثل العقاب والثعالب والذئاب والغزلان وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.

لقد زرت حديقة Freshkills مرتين. جميل. بالوقوف هناك ، لا يسعك إلا أن تتساءل عما إذا كانت مدينة نيويورك محظوظة. كان من الممكن أن ينتهي هذا بشكل مختلف تمامًا بالنسبة لجبال القمامة تلك. نعم ، سيستغرق الأمر 15 عامًا أخرى قبل افتتاح الحديقة. ومع ذلك ، نحن محظوظون لأنها عملت بشكل جيد مع Freshkills ومدينة نيويورك. بالوقوف هناك ، ستدرك لماذا يجب إعادة تدوير كل قشر موز ولب التفاح.

من الناحية المثالية ، يتم إعادة إنشاء برنامج إعادة التدوير العضوي في مدينة نيويورك في أي وقت من الأوقات. بخلاف ذلك ، نأمل أن تكون هناك خطة أخرى رائعة بنفس القدر لجميع الخردة الجديدة قريبًا.


فيديو: أوروبا. تطبيقات لمواجهة هدر الطعام (يوليو 2022).


تعليقات:

  1. Malik

    الجواب المثالي

  2. Fenrigal

    بشكل رائع ، إجابة قيمة للغاية

  3. Acair

    أشكر على المعلومات ، الآن سأعرف.



اكتب رسالة

TOPICS

The tragedy of food waste

The tragedy of food waste

Most food waste is dumped in landfills instead of being recycled, but an abandoned landfill is being renovated.

There are many pleasant stories circulating about the return of wildlife and the healing of nature as humans take a break from our activity. However, this slowdown is not good news for the environment. New York City, for example, has suspended its organic recycling program. That means that tens of thousands of tons of garbage that last year would have been recycled this year will find its way to a landfill.

Not that many people in New York City notice that the show has been suspended. Only half of the city's neighborhoods have brown containers on the sidewalk. And only about 10 percent of those with the containers participate at all. Still, that adds up to 50,000 tons of recycled organic material each year, enough to fill nearly 4,000 garbage trucks.

When food scraps and other organic materials break down, they produce methane, which if released can be destructive to the atmosphere, but when captured in a controlled recycling program can be used as an alternative energy. Recycling organic matter locally also means that all those tons of trash don't need to be trucked out of state as far away as South Carolina. In addition, there is the physical by-product of fertilizer, which can be sold on the market or used in community gardens.

Until recently, he was part of that small group of New Yorkers who recycled their food scraps. And I did it so diligently. Every banana peel, every apple core, every Wednesday went down to the sidewalk and sanitation workers dragged it away to become fertilizer or biogas, something more than just more landfill. My contribution was probably only five pounds a week. But it felt good to know that I was reducing my impact in this small but steady way.

Now those tens of thousands of tons of garbage will be transported by diesel trucks to sit and emit methane in a landfill. It feels like an unforced error, as if we are making mistakes that we have already begun to correct. Whatever it's called, it is definitely a step back in our fight against climate change.

The old New York City landfill, once the largest in the world, is the best setting for what can happen to millions of tons of trash. Freshkills Park, when it opens in 2035, will cover 2,200 acres, about three times the size of Central Park. It's being designed by James Corner Field Operations, the same company that designed the High Line in Manhattan. It is not the first landfill project to park, but it is the largest.

"It's probably best to think of it as a national park," says Cait Field, manager of research and science development at Freshkills Park. “There will be a trailhead and a visitor center. The idea is that you really wouldn't visit the entire park in one day. "

Freshkills Park was originally the Fresh Kills Landfill. It was opened in 1948 by the controversial parks commissioner Robert Moses. He only intended to receive garbage from the city for three years, instead he took the garbage away for more than half a century. At its peak, that added up to nearly 30,000 tons of trash per day.

In 1970, a former sanitation commissioner named Samuel Kearing wrote about a site visit inthe magazineNew York: “It had a certain nightmare quality… Fresh Kills had been for thousands of years a magnificent, abundant and literally life-enhancing tidal swamp. And in just 25 years, it disappeared, buried under millions of tons of New York City trash. "

In 2001, the landfill was finally closed. Although the work had really just begun. As Field says: “Trash doesn't go away. You can't take it anywhere. They are millions and millions of tons ”.

So instead, they limited it. There is a waterproof liner that keeps all the trash and methane in place. Then there are a few layers of dirt, each with different consistencies for different purposes. There is a gas vent layer and a drainage collection layer. Everything is quite complex underneath, even if it just looks like a grassy hill.

As for methane, the park has hundreds of wells throughout the site to capture the gas. It's enough to power 20,000 homes on Staten Island. It also means that garbage-covered mountains are technically deflated, albeit only a little and very slowly.

Trees are tough in Freshkills Park because their roots can't reach that far before hitting the cap layer. Therefore, the park is primarily grassland that has shallower roots and also allows staff to easily access wellheads and other infrastructure.

This is good news for the grasshopper sparrow. These birds are of conservation concern in New York State, in part because their preferred habitat, tall grasslands, are so rare in the Northeast. Today, the largest crew of grasshopper sparrows in New York State call this former landfill home. Like the osprey, foxes, coyotes, deer and much more.

I have been to Freshkills Park twice. It's nice. Standing there, you can't help but wonder if New York City got lucky. This could have ended very differently for those mountains of garbage. Yes, it will take another 15 years before the park opens. However, we are fortunate that it worked so well for Freshkills and New York City. Standing there, you realize why every banana peel and apple core really should be recycled.

Ideally, the organic recycling program is recreated in New York City in no time. If not, we hope there is another equally brilliant plan for all the new junk coming soon.

Video: Food Waste: A Global Tragedy - by Selina Juul 1:2 (November 2020).