المواضيع

يمكن أن ينهار النظام البيئي العملاق فجأة

يمكن أن ينهار النظام البيئي العملاق فجأة



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

بفضل حجمها الكبير ، تعد النظم البيئية العملاقة مثل الغابات المطيرة في الأمازون منيعة نسبيًا ضد الإجهاد البيئي مقارنةً بالنظم الأصغر. أو هكذا نميل إلى التفكير.

ومع ذلك ، فإن دراسة جديدة نُشرت في مجلة Nature تدحض هذا الافتراض. قد يكون النظام البيئي الأكبر والأكثر تعقيدًا أكثر عرضة للانهيار المفاجئ من النظام البيئي الأصغر بمجرد تجاوز العوامل البيئية والمناخية نقطة التحول.

توصل فريق من الباحثين وراء الدراسة إلى هذا الاستنتاج بعد فحص العلاقة بين حجم النظام البيئي والسرعة التي ينهار بها في "تغيير النظام" الدرامي. لقد أسفرت نتائجهم عن أفكار مزعجة.

كتب المؤلفون: "يمكن لتغييرات النظام أن تؤثر بشكل مفاجئ على النظم الهيدرولوجية والمناخية والبرية ، مما يؤدي إلى تدهور النظم البيئية والمجتمعات الفقيرة". ويضيفون: "تميل الأنظمة الكبيرة إلى التغيير بشكل أبطأ من الأنظمة الصغيرة ولكنها أسرع بشكل غير متناسب" ، بناءً على نتائج من خمسة نماذج كمبيوتر.

حتى في حياة الإنسان ، يمكن أن ينهار نظام بيئي واسع مثل نظام الأمازون. يمكن أن تحدث تغييرات جذرية في النظم البيئية الكبيرة في جميع أنحاء العالم على النطاقات الزمنية "البشرية" للسنوات والعقود ، مما يعني أن انهيار النظم البيئية الكبيرة المعرضة للخطر ، مثل غابات الأمازون المطيرة والشعاب المرجانية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، قد يستغرق بضعة عقود فقط حتى يكتمل. بمجرد تفعيله "، حذر العلماء.

في البداية ، كما هو متوقع ، تكون الأنظمة البيئية الأكبر والأكثر تعقيدًا من الناحية البيولوجية أكثر مقاومة من الأنظمة البيئية الأصغر والأبسط. ومع ذلك ، بعد نقطة اللاعودة ، فإنها تنهار بشكل أسرع نتيجة لتأثير مدمر على جميع مكوناتها.

يمكن أن ينهار نظام بيئي واسع مثل غابات الأمازون المطيرة في غضون نصف قرن فقط ، بينما يمكن أن تنهار الشعاب المرجانية المجهدة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي في غضون عقد ونصف فقط.

نظرًا لإعجابنا بحجمها وحجمها وعمرها الجيولوجي ، يمكن تضليلنا للاعتقاد بأن النظم البيئية الكبيرة مرنة للغاية ويمكنها التعافي من ويلات الإجهاد البيئي. لكن الخبراء يحذرون من أن وهم الدوام هذا خادع.

"تحتاج البشرية الآن إلى الاستعداد للتغييرات في النظم البيئية التي تكون أسرع مما كنا نتخيله سابقًا من خلال نظرتنا الخطية التقليدية للعالم ، بما في ذلك أكبر النظم البيئية وأكثرها شهرة على الأرض والأنظمة الاجتماعية والبيئية التي تدعمها ،" يقولون.

بقلم دانيال تي كروس. المقال باللغة الإنجليزية


فيديو: النظام البيئي (أغسطس 2022).

TOPICS

A giant ecosystem can suddenly collapse

A giant ecosystem can suddenly collapse

Thanks to their large size, giant ecosystems like the Amazon rainforests are relatively impervious to environmental stress compared to smaller ones. Or so we tend to think.

However, a new study published in the journal Nature disproves this assumption. A larger and more complex ecosystem may be more prone to sudden collapse than a smaller one once environmental and climatic factors have passed a tipping point.

A team of researchers behind the study came to this conclusion after examining the relationship between the size of an ecosystem and the speed with which it collapses in dramatic "regime change." Their findings have yielded disturbing insights.

"Regime changes can abruptly affect hydrological, climatic and terrestrial systems, leading to degraded ecosystems and impoverished societies," the authors write. "Large systems tend to change more slowly than small systems but disproportionately faster," they add, based on results from five computer models.

Even in human life, a vast ecosystem like that of the Amazon could fall apart. Dramatic changes in large ecosystems around the globe could “occur on 'human' time scales of years and decades, meaning that the collapse of large vulnerable ecosystems, such as the Amazon rainforest and the coral reefs of the Caribbean, can take only a few decades to complete. once it is activated ”, warn the scientists.

Initially, as can be expected, the larger and more biologically complex ecosystems are more resistant than the smaller and simpler ones. However, past a point of no return, they collapse faster as a result of a devastating effect on all their constituent parts.

A vast ecosystem like the Amazon rainforests could collapse in just half a century, while stressed coral reefs in the Caribbean could collapse in just a decade and a half.

Impressed by their scale, size, and geological age, we can be misled into thinking that large ecosystems are extremely resilient and can recover from the ravages of environmental stress. However, such an illusion of permanence is deceptive, experts warn.

"Humanity now needs to prepare for changes in ecosystems that are faster than we had previously envisioned through our traditional linear view of the world, including the largest and most iconic ecosystems on Earth and the socio-ecological systems they support," they say.

By Daniel T. Cross. article in english

Video: The great death of insects. DW Documentary ecology documentary (October 2020).