أخبار

الآن خلد الماء في أستراليا على وشك الانقراض بسبب الجفاف

الآن خلد الماء في أستراليا على وشك الانقراض بسبب الجفاف



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

تسبب الجفاف في أستراليا في انخفاض تدفق الأنهار - الموطن الطبيعي لخلد الماء. أكد بيان صادر عن جلعاد بينو ، رئيس الأبحاث في مركز دراسات النظم البيئية في جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز (UNSW) ، أن الجفاف المطول هو السبب الرئيسي الذي يعرض الحيوان المستوطن للخطر.

وبالمثل ، يشير التحقيق إلى أنه إذا استمرت الظروف المناخية مع قطع الأشجار ، وبناء السدود ، وقطع الأرض وغيرها من التغييرات ، فإن عدد خلد الماء سينخفض ​​من بين 47 في المائة إلى 66 في المائة في الخمسين سنة القادمة ، مما قد يتسبب في انقراض السكان محليًا بنسبة 40٪

قال الدكتور بينو: "الأبراج تموت في العديد من الأنهار ويبدو أن الوضع يزداد سوءًا" ، مضيفًا: "هذه آثار تطورية تنفرد بها أستراليا ، وعوامل مثل زيادة وتيرة الجفاف ومدته ستؤدي بالتأكيد إلى انقراض العديد من السكان".

حيوانات أوراسيا حيوانات بعيدة المنال ، وتقضي معظم وقتها تحت الماء. جنبا إلى جنب مع أربعة أنواع من قنفذ البحر ، هم الوحيدون monotremes في العالم. اعتقد هواة الجمع الأوروبيون الذين تلقوا عيناتهم الأولى أن مزيجهم من الفراء والأقدام المكفوفة ومنقار البط كان غريبًا جدًا بحيث لا يمكن أن يكون حقيقيًا.

من المحتمل أن تكون أعدادهم ، إلى جانب العديد من الأنواع المائية الأخرى ، قد تأثرت بالجفاف الشديد وتسجيل موجة الحرارة عبر معظم مداها ، حتى قبل حرائق الغابات.

قال ريتشارد كينجسفورد ، مدير مركز جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز وأحد مؤلفي الدراسة ، إن تغيير موائل موراي دارلينج ونطاق التقسيم العظيم يعني أن "العواقب وخيمة على خلد الماء". "هذا يؤثر على قدرتها على البقاء على قيد الحياة فترات طويلة من الجفاف وزيادة الطلب على المياه."

جادل الدكتور بينو بأن هناك "حاجة ملحة لتقييم المخاطر الوطنية" للحيوان ، مضيفًا: "نحن لا نراقب ما نفترض أنه نوع شائع ومن ثم يمكننا أن نستيقظ وندرك أن الأوان قد فات".

من وزارة البيئة الفيدرالية ، يؤكدون: "قبل هذه الدراسة ، لم تكن هناك معلومات تشير إلى أن خلد الماء كان مهددًا ، لذلك لم يتم تقييمه".

المصادر: sdpnoticias.com alertageo.org econews.com.au



فيديو: ماذا سوف يحدث إذا ذاب الجليد حول العالم بالفعل (أغسطس 2022).

NEWS

Now the platypus in Australia is on the verge of extinction due to drought

Now the platypus in Australia is on the verge of extinction due to drought

The drought in Australia has caused the flow of rivers - the natural habitat of the platypus - to decrease. A statement issued by Gilad Bino, research leader at the Center for Ecosystem Studies at the University of New South Wales (UNSW), assures that the prolonged drought is the main cause that puts the endemic animal at risk.

Likewise, the investigation indicates that if the climatic conditions together with the felling of trees, the construction of dams, the clearing of land and other alterations continue, the number of platypus will fall from between 47 percent to 66 percent in the next fifty years, which would cause the local extinction of populations by 40 percent.

"The turrets are dying in many rivers and the situation seems to be getting worse," said Dr Bino, adding: "These are evolutionary relics unique to Australia, and factors such as the increasing frequency and duration of droughts will definitely drive many populations to extinction."

Eurasian eels are elusive animals, spending most of their time under water. Together with four species of echidnas, they are the only monotremes in the world. European collectors who received their first specimens thought their combination of fur, webbed feet, and duckbill was too strange to be genuine.

Their numbers, along with many other aquatic species, are likely to have been affected by the intensifying drought and record heat wave across much of their range, even before the wildfires.

The alteration of the habitats of Murray Darling and the Great Dividing Range means that "the consequences are dire for the platypus," said Richard Kingsford, director of the UNSW center and another of the study's authors. "This is impacting their ability to survive these long periods of drought and increased demand for water."

Dr Bino argued that there is "an urgent need for a national risk assessment" for the animal, adding: "We are not monitoring what we assume to be a common species and then we can wake up and realize it is too late.

From the federal Ministry of the Environment, they maintain: "Before this study, there has been no information to suggest that the platypus was threatened, so it has not been evaluated."

Sources: sdpnoticias.com alertageo.org econews.com.au


Video: Duckbill Platypus. Australia (October 2020).